hemburger

Anna Halprin

I was married to the late Lawrence Halprin for 70 years. He had a profound influence on my life and works. I would like to honor him by presenting his biography of me.
Anna Halprin

Early on, Anna abandoned the modern dance developed by the American pioneers (Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey, Charles Weidman) because it was based on the personalities of those dancers. For her, dance essentially draws on primitive needs that express life forces. Her earliest background emphasized the anatomy and physiology of the human body and its relation to the forces of nature and the environment. She was able to develop her processes in nature on an outdoor dance deck I designed for her. With the proscenium arch removed, the stage presented new and different spatial relationships, and enveloped performers with the sounds and elements of nature. It has today become an international icon of creativity with nature, and since World War II drawn a cadre of brilliant dancers from around the world, including Merce Cunningham, Min Tanaka, Meredith Monk, Simone Forti, Trisha Brown, Yvonne Rainer, Eiko and Koma, along with many young new dancers. With her students she developed new sources of group creativity based on a series of workshop exercises called ‘Experiments in the Environment’. In these, as in life, the outcome emerges as a result of interactions with the environment and other group members, in a way that is flexible, intense and life-affirming.

More and more her dance has developed as with myths and rituals, in which the focus is on issues of everyday life: psychological or physical, and community as well as personal. In this sense she has reverted to the early meaning of dance in human society, which is joyful and healing as well as tragic, and based on the most primitive needs of the human condition. These dances are universal.

For this reason, Anna’s dances have plowed new deep ground which is unlike any other performer today. Dance for her is humanistic and searching, with its importance found in the process of creativity that she has developed as much as in the performance itself.

Lawrence Halprin

Contredanse Editions published in 2009 her book Moving towards life, translated into French under the title Mouvement de vie.

To celebrate this publication, Contredanse organizes a workshop and a meeting with Anna Halprin, which will be the first steps towards the interactive publication Anna Halprin – Dancing Life / Danser la vie, published in 2014.

Bookshop

My Cart
0

hemburger

Anna Halprin

J’ai été mariée pendant septante années avec feu Lawrence Halprin. Il m’a profondément influencée dans ma vie et mon travail. Je souhaite lui rendre hommage en utilisant ici la biographie qu’il a écrite pour moi.

Anna Halprin

Au départ, Anna abandonne la modern dance des pionniers américains (Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey, Charles Weidman), car cette danse repose sur la personnalité de ses fondateurs. Pour Anna, la danse puise essentiellement à des nécessités primitives, exprimant des forces vitales. Ses premières études se concentrent sur l’anatomie et la physiologie du corps humain et sa relation aux forces de la nature et de l’environnement extérieur. Elle a pu développer ses processus en plein air sur un plateau de danse que j’ai conçu pour elle : en supprimant le cadre de scène, il offrait une relation nouvelle et différente à l’espace et baignait les danseurs dans les sons et autres éléments naturels. Ce lieu est depuis devenu un emblème mondialement connu de créativité inspirée par la nature ; il a attiré des danseurs brillants du monde entier depuis la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale jusqu’à nos jours, notamment Merce Cunningham, Min Tanaka, Meredith Monk, Simone Forti, Trisha Brown, Yvonne Rainer, Eiko et Koma et de nombreux jeunes danseurs. Avec ses élèves, Anna développe de nouvelles sources de créativité collective à partir d’une série d’exercices en atelier, intitulés « Expériences dans l’environnement extérieur ». Comme dans la vie, le résultat – ouvert, intense et positif pour l’existence – émerge de l’interaction avec le contexte naturel et avec les membres du groupe. De plus en plus, sa danse prend la forme de mythes et de rituels touchant aux problèmes de la vie quotidienne, psychologiques ou physiques, tant collectifs que personnels. De fait, elle est retournée au sens premier de la danse dans la société, joyeuse et apaisante autant que tragique, et construite à partir des besoins les plus primitifs de la condition humaine. Ces danses sont universelles.

Ainsi, les danses d’Anna ont défriché en profondeur un territoire nouveau, unique en son genre. La danse, qui est pour elle de l’ordre de l’humanisme et de la quête, compte autant par le processus créatif qu’elle a mis au point que par sa réalisation.

Lawrence Halprin

Les éditions Contredanse publie en 2009 son livre Moving towards life, traduit en français sous le titre Mouvement de vie.

À l’occasion de cette parution, Contredanse organise une atelier et une rencontre avec Anna Halprin qui seront les prémices de la publication interactive Anna Halprin – Dancing Life / Danser la vie, parue en 2014.

Lire plus

Bookshop

Mon Panier
0